

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Sheridan Student Union 2019-2020 By-Elections: Official Results

**October 10, 2019 [Oakville, ON]:** Voting for the Sheridan Student Union Board of Directors candidates took place online at simplyvoting.thessu.ca between October 7, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. and October 8, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Students were able to vote for the number of available seats at their home campus. 2 seats were available at the Trafalgar (Oakville) Campus, 2 at Davis (Brampton) and 4 at HMC (Mississauga).

Below are the official results for 2019 - 2020 By-Election for each campus.

## CANDIDATES AT THE HMC CAMPUS:

*Ty Defreitas* 121 – YES 30 – NO

Abstain - 74

*Maiya Samuel* 120 – YES 39 – NO

Abstain - 66

*Tarek Al-Shawwa* 114 – YES 45 – NO

Abstain - 66

As a result, Sheridan Student Union would like to welcome *Ty Defreitas*, *Maiya Samuel and Tarek Al-Shawwa* as members of the 2019-2020 SSU Board of Directors representing Sheridan's Hazel McCallion Campus.

Sheridan Student Union Inc. www.thessu.ca



## CANDIDATES AT THE DAVIS CAMPUS:

Yash Amitbhai Karkar	259
Abhishek Hastir	240
Luvraj Tyagi	165
Dominique Binkowski	133
Jaymar Marayag	116
Wazirahmad Fofilzeh	73

Abstain - 61

As a result, Sheridan Student Union would like to welcome *Yash Amitbhai Karkar and Abhishek Hastir* as members of the 2019-2020 SSU Board of Directors representing Sheridan's Davis Campus.

There were no registered candidates at the Trafalgar (Oakville) campus.

To learn more about the Sheridan Student Union Board of Directors, visit thessu.ca/governance.

## ###

Sheridan Student Union (SSU) is an organized body that represents the full-time and part-time students of Sheridan College. "Our mission is to be a student led community enhancing the experience of our fellow students." <a href="https://www.thessu.ca">www.thessu.ca</a>

For more information, contact:

Mia Fatrdla Senior Manager, Marketing, Communications & Creative Sheridan Student Union mia.fatrdla@sheridancollege.ca

Sheridan Student Union Inc. www.thessu.ca